We have moved to http://vampiressparkle.blogspot.com


Twilight series provides absorbing plots, support group of fellow junkies
February 6, 2009, 11:21 pm
Filed under: review, Twilight | Tags: ,

Heres another Twilight review for you to enjoy

What is the first thing you think of when you hear the word twilight? Odds are you don’t think of dusk or dawn, like you did a couple of years ago. When you hear that word, it probably conjures up thoughts of vampires, obsessed middle school girls and “I love Edward” flair on Facebook. Those were the same thoughts that came to my mind. At first, I didn’t understand the appeal of this Harry Potter-esque book.

When Harry Potter first came out, I tried to get into it – I really did. I read the first book, but I kept falling asleep. I couldn’t get more than halfway through it. I decided then that just because everyone was getting into it, that didn’t mean it would necessarily be great or captivating for me. I’ve watched all of the Harry Potter movies and enjoyed them a lot, but I never really caught the pandemic.

The same thing happened to me when the Twilight outbreak happened; I saw tons of Facebook flair that said things about Edward and Bella. It didn’t really make me want to read the book; I mean, how could a book really be good when the flair is so lame? It did pique my interest, though, so I looked at Stephanie Meyer’s book Web site and found it to be very interesting.

But I still wasn’t really interested in reading her work.

Then my sister asked for the last three books in the Twilight series for her birthday, just when the fourth one came out. I got them for her, and she was done reading them within three weeks. I thought it was strange – who had enough time to read all of those books in that short of a time period? The last book alone is 754 pages long.

This got me interested. If my sister could like this book, maybe I would too. So I picked up the first book and began reading it. I only got through the first three or four chapters; it wasn’t really catching my interest, so I didn’t really read it anymore. Almost six months passed and I never really thought much about the books anymore. Then I was staying at my friends house and they were talking about the Twilight series. It struck me as odd that these people that I knew really liked this series, and they weren’t in middle school. I realized that there might be something to this whole Twilight craze. Maybe it deserved to be given another chance.

I picked up where I had left off in the first book and found that I couldn’t put it down. I finished the first book within a week and a half and then immediately began reading the second. That was a month and a half ago, and I’m already well into the fourth book. This really is an addiction; I don’t even know how it happened.

The book has a slow start, which kind of put me off; I think that’s why I got bored with the first one so quickly. But once Meyer got past the introductions and the set-up and started building up the characters, I got really into it. It’s a great series of books that keeps you wanting more. There is never a good place to stop, not even at 4 a.m. when you are dead tired and need sleep because you have to work in five hours. There is always something going on or something about to happen – there’s always a reason to keep reading.

I’m truly a Twilight addict; the great thing about it, though, is that I’m not alone. I was reading New Moon as I was waiting on my friend to meet me for lunch. When she got there, her first words were, “What are you reading? You are such a nerd.”

Then she flipped the cover over and saw that it was part of the Twilight series and quickly apologized and said that she completely understood.

It’s like being an addict with a built-in support group – everyone who is addicted knows exactly what you are going through. They will listen when you need to complain about Edward or Jacob, and they won’t tell you what happens next if they are ahead of you.

I never thought I would get so caught up in this series, but it’s different when you are on the inside looking out. When you are as caught up in the book as everyone else, you can actually understand what the craze is about. It’s not just some book – it’s a great work that is captivating with multidimensional characters. I am by no means wearing a team vampire shirt and wishing my boyfriend were Edward, but it is a great series, and it’s not just for obsessed middle school girls.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

